IMG_8165.jpg

THE ESTATE 

our history_

The family estate, created in the 1960s, has been transformed over the years. Each face has shaped it to the rhythm of past meetings and events. 

chap. n°1

"the creation"

In 1962, my father André Moreau decided to replant the first vines in the commune of St-Euphraise, under the stunned gaze of the elders, who saw him as a visionary. It was only a few years later that he started making wine.

 

He marketed his first bottles in 1973 under the brand name Champagne André Moreau. For many years and until the 1990s, my father and my mother Micheline never stopped expanding and maintaining the estate. 

 

In 1991, they decided to take a well-deserved retirement, and to put an end to this first chapter.

IMG_8186_edited.jpg

chap. n°3

"at the dawn of a revolution"

The environment is our great challenge, after nearly 25 years of sustainable viticulture, VDC (viticulture durable en Champagne, HVE (high environmental value), have now become an obligation for each farm.

 

But this regulation does not seem to us to go far enough in the environmental approach and the respect of the living. This is why we have decided to take the plunge and commit ourselves to converting to organic farming in 2020. This conversion will last 4 years, and will be for us the guarantee of the respect of our ancestral lands.

IMG_8173.jpg

chap. n°2

"takeover of the domain"

It was only natural that my husband Olivier and I should take up the torch and write the second chapter of this beautiful family story.

 

At the time, we were not married, but the desire to commercialise was obvious. We created the brand Champagne Sylvie Moreau, and the adventure began. Over the years, we have expanded our vineyards until they now cover three hectares. We vinify more and more atypical vintages, letting the terroir express itself.

 

Today, economic, technical and environmental developments force us to adapt constantly.  Global warming is a significant proof of this. With harvests in October twenty years ago, today we are on a late August/early September schedule, as proof of the 2017, 2018 and 2020 harvests...

IMG_8583.JPG

IMG_8165.jpg

LE DOMAINE

notre histoire_

Le domaine familial créé dans les années soixante, s'est transformé au fil des saisons viticoles. Chaque étape  a pu le façonner au rythme des rencontres, des récoltes  et des événements passés. 

chap. n°1

"la création"

C’est en 1962, que mon père André Moreau décide de replanter les premières vignes sur la commune de   St-Euphraise, sous le regard stupéfait des anciens, qui le voyaient comme un visionnaire. Ce n’est que quelques années plus tard, qu’il se lance dans la vinification.

Il commercialisera dès lors ses premières bouteilles durant l’année 1973 sous la marque : Champagne André Moreau. Pendant de nombreuses années et jusque dans les années 1990, mon père et ma mère Micheline n’ont cessé d’agrandir et d’entretenir le domaine. 

En 1991, ils décident de prendre une retraite bien méritée, et de mettre un terme à ce premier chapitre.

chap. n°3

"à l'aube d'une révolution"

L’environnement est notre grand défi, après la viticulture raisonnée pendant près de 25 ans, la viticulture durable, haute valeur environnementale, sont aujourd’hui devenu une obligation pour chaque exploitation.

 

Mais cette réglementation ne nous semble pas aller assez loin dans la démarche environnementale et le respect du vivant. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous avons décidé de franchir le pas, et de nous engager dans une conversion vers l'agriculture biologique en 2020. Cette conversion durera 4 ans, et sera pour nous la garantie du respect de nos terres ancestrales.

chap. n°2

"la reprise du domaine"

C’est tout naturellement, que nous avons repris le flambeau avec mon mari Olivier, afin d’écrire le deuxième chapitre de cette belle histoire familiale.

A l’époque, nous n’étions pas mariés, mais l’envie de commercialiser est apparue comme une évidence. Nous créons la marque Champagne Sylvie Moreau, l’aventure commence alors. Nous nous agrandissons au fil des années, jusqu’à ce que notre exploitation atteigne à ce jour trois hectares. Nous vinifions des cuvées de plus en plus atypiques, laissant s'exprimer le terroir.

Aujourd’hui, les évolutions économiques, techniques, et environnementales, nous obligent à nous adapter sans cesse.  Le réchauffement climatique en est une preuve significative. Avec des vendanges en octobre il y a vingt ans, aujourd’hui nous sommes sur des vendanges à fin août début septembre pour preuve les vendanges 2017, 2018 et 2020…

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.

Copyright © 2021 Champagne Sylvie Moreau